[讨论] Gracie Gold自传 : My Skating Journey(英文)

[复制链接]
年华小编 发表于 2013-6-6 10:00:01 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
BY GRACIE GOLD

I first stepped on the ice when I was about 2 . My sister, Carly, and I were born near Boston, Mass. The winters were long and we were very active kids. To survive, my mom would bundle us up and take us skating on nearby frozen marshes. She laughs about those early trips and says it took longer to get us ready than the amount of time we actually skated!

We left the Boston area when I was 5 and I didn't skate again until I was in second grade. One of my friends celebrated his birthday party at the ice rink in Springfield, Mo. While I circled around and around in my brown rental skates, I studied a group of skaters spinning in the center. I was fascinated! When my mom picked me up, I began a campaign for skating lessons.

The rink was new and just developing its Learn to Skate program. I started in a 30-minute class held once a week. Carly and I were involved in an array of activities at that time. I was one of those kids who changed in the car, arrived moments before class began, and ran into the rink with my skates already on! In spite of my inauspicious beginning, I progressed rapidly. I loved everything about figure skating: the chilled air against my face as I flew around the rink, the sound of sharp blades ripping across fresh ice, the sense of accomplishment I felt after mastering a new skill, the exhilaration of landing a new jump, and the tight camaraderie between the skaters. Carly saw how much fun I was having and she began skating also. We have shared the best of times and some of the hardest together on the ice!

8388C6E3E28148FE947D59FAC37E6239.ashx.jpg